The Faithful Spy

THe Faithful SpyJust finished reading this. I started reading it in the fall of 2009.

From the publisher’s website: John Wells is the only CIA agent to ever penetrate al Qaeda. While living in the mountains of Pakistan, he became a Muslim, convinced of the decadence and shallowness of the United States. Now, on the orders of Omar Khadri–the malicious mastermind plotting more al Qaeda strikes on America–Wells is coming home. Neither Khadri nor Jennifer Exley, Wells superior at Langley, knows quite what to expect.

Well, like I said above, I started reading this book months and months ago. I got to about page 270 and stopped reading it for a long time. Throughout, I am glad to say that this book is very unique. Its original. That’s really hard to find in pulp fiction these days. I was relatively impressed with this fact. Its written fairly well.

The reason that I put the book down for several months was because the main character is so dismal. I mean, he is just DISMAL. I cannot describe it enough. He is entirely depressing. And when you read the book, you feel it. I decided I needed to read something else for awhile and maybe come back to this book – maybe. The character himself is interesting – unique and different from many of the heroes in pulp fiction. But he’s just so damn dismal! Ugh! A few chapters and you feel really heavy. The other characters were not as unique or interesting. Frankly, they were a bit flat.

The plot, though, is good. This is a good read for anyone who is really interested in terrorist-cells and covert spies. But you may want to take some antidepressants while you read. The author has continued to write novels including this main character (John Wells); the author is a good writer but if this character is just as dismal in the other books….. I don’t know that I can read along.

3 stars

Leave a Reply

