Criminal Minds: Season 1

Criminal Minds 1
Criminal Minds DVD season 1

People I know kept hounding me to watch Criminal Minds, and I had heard decent reviews of this series. So, I found season 1 “on sale” for less than a million dollars.  I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect, although I knew the main premise was hunting for bad guys.

I was disappointed – overall – with season 1. And by the time I was on disc 5, I was absolutely marvelling that this show has run so many seasons. I was convinced that the other seasons must be really awesome to make up for this nonsense. I think there are 6 or 7 seasons.

Anyway, season one’s characters include Gideon (the real boss), Hotchner (the unit boss in name only), Morgan (the token black guy), Garcia (the techie), Elle (the headstrong chick), J.J. (the media relations girl), and Reid (the dorky, socially-inept kid).

Each episode does not deal with a serial killer, but it is the main thing that this FBI BAU (Behavioral Analysis Unit) looks for. They are profilers and they tend to view everything first as a possible serial killing, and then next as some other killing.  We are often supposed to be in awe of their deduction skills – as they examine people and then can tell us great accurate details about the person’s personality and lifestyle.  Frankly, this doesn’t seem any more tricky than the stuff of fortune tellers at carnivals.

Also, for any of this to work at all, there is a heavy-handed overarching determinist principle at work here. I suppose that’s SOME of the point of the show – to get us to consider nature/nurture and so forth. I have to say, though, that all of this comes out flat and ineffectively. After disc two I was asking myself: “gee, how much more odd and convoluted can they make serial killers.”  Because after you do the cannibalism, the rapes, and the patterns, what’s left? And, also, every (and I mean EVERY) crime is somehow because of the sex. So, watching this show is like watching a determinist Freud show.

The characters…. ahhh…. for 5 discs, they have ZERO personality. They are flatline, boring people. For example, Morgan does absolutely nothing on any of their cases. Really. Its amusing how little he does. He’s just there to be “the black guy” and say a few lines. The girl who plays Elle (Lola Glaudini) is the best looking of the bunch, but apparently she’s only in seasons 1 & 2. I have no idea what her role in the BAU really is.   Hotchner. Holy crap, Hotchner. I almost quit watching after disc 1 because I just simply couldn’t tolerate the boring monotone any further. I get that he’s supposed to be the rule-abiding suit-wearing boss. But NO ONE is that monotone. NO ONE.

Garcia is the only character that I really like. And, to be honest, I only like her because of her witty quotes. She’s a smart alec and it amuses me.

Some of the script is lame, they say obvious things or tautologies, but I assume this is for the dumb people who watch the show. It is a graphic show, its not the easiest show to eat in front of. Bodies everywhere type thing – much like Bones in that respect.

The last two episodes of the last disc are finally pretty good – and the season ends on a big cliffhanger to-be-continued sort of thing. So that means, I am really stuck watching season 2. Hopefully, though, with the last disc, the show has found its footing and things will improve. Up until that last disc I was glad to be done with this show and didn’t want to see any future seasons.

2 stars

Leave a Reply

