Burn Notice: Season 1

Burn Notice 1

Burn Notice DVD season 1

If there is a cooler show on TV, I don’t know what it is. Really. Sure, there are funnier, bloodier, more intense shows out there, but none is cooler than Burn Notice.

The thing is, I was bored with all the TV options in the house – and so I headed out to the store to check out what could possibly be left to get me through until the new seasons arrived on DVD.  I stumbled across Burn Notice for a ridiculously low price. I think it was something like $15.  I watched the pilot, felt it was “okay” and consequently sold the season for trade-in money at the local used media shop.  Then, on Black Friday, I picked up Burn Notice seasons 1 and 2 for $10 each.  Don’t think that I watched them immediately, though.

Finally, at the end of June, I sat down and really watched Burn Notice. I gotta tell you – this is good stuff. I am so happy and so thrilled that I found this, that I finally watched it, and that its such a great show. Thank you writers and actors. Thank you Hollywood. I love the settings in Miami, I love the fashion, I love the characters, I love the humor, I love the action and suspense, I love the storylines, I love the coolness factor.

Fiona and Michael are super cool.  They are probably the coolest characters on TV in the last ten years. Really. Think Bones and Booth [Bones] – if Bones and Booth were cool and in Miami. And exploded stuff. And drove cool cars.

The pilot episode is probably the worst episode of the entire series. I feel that the producers and directors changed things after getting feedback from the audience regarding the pilot. There are subtle changes and additions that definitely improve the show. By episode two, everything’s fantastic. So, if you are like me and gave up after the pilot – go right on back and watch that second episode. Now. Really.

Incidentally, I can repeat the whole opening of the episodes by heart.  “…… you’re not going anywhere.”

I should warn you:   keep some yogurt in the fridge when you watch this series. Trust me.

5 stars

Leave a Reply

