The Guild: Season 3

The Guild Season 3
The Guild Season 3 DVD

I finished watching The Guild season 3.  There’s good and bad to be said about it. I’m giving this season the same number of stars for a rating – but for different reasons.

I love the spoofy / geeky content. Its fantastic. Also, I think the actors are having fun as well as doing  a good job. I feel like they are having a good time making this series. This counts for a lot because I have, on occasion, watched shows and felt that one or two actors really were strained in their role or on the series. I feel like they were not having fun and not enjoying their work. Everything is better if you like what you are doing. It comes across to the audience.

The video-ing and the sound is much better for this season. Not that it was necessarily bad in the previous two seasons, but this season is a big improvement. And one can feel that the budget increased, too. Not to say that it takes a huge budget to make anything worthy, but its tough to do without a decent budget. I am glad that this show is able to do all that it does. And the improvements made for the scenes, sounds, and video are noticeable and welcome.

The storyline is pretty good – at base. However, the stuff with Zaboo and Riley is a bit too much, I think. Also, this episode involved a lot more F-bombing and trash talking. Its okay at this level, I suppose, but it lost some of the innocent-geek of the first two seasons. Basically, this should be the limit. If it goes beyond this level, it will no longer be as comfortable and pleasant to watch.

The addition of Will Wheaton to the cast (as a villain) was an okay move. I think his comfort in front of the camera and delivering lines showed through. I think he blends easily with the cast so he doesn’t seem odd. I am not a Will Wheaton adoring fanboy, though I know there are some out there. He does a good job here, but I don’t want to say that because he’s there the show is any better.  In other words, the other actors were doing a fine job without him and don’t need him. He’s just a small plus to an already competent cast.

Speaking of the characters, I think each actor was quite a bit more adept in their roles this time. The character Clara was fantastic. Riley, although scary, was played very well. Overall this was another success for The Guild and I am, of course, looking forward to watching the next season(s).

3 stars

Leave a Reply

