Criminal Minds: Season 3

Criminal Minds season 3
Criminal Minds season 3 DVD

I finished Criminal Minds season three the other day.  For most of the season, I would watch an episode and comment: “That wasn’t a very good episode….”   Basically, by the third disc, I had decided that I would give this season merely 2 stars.  After having watched the last disc, however, I was tempted to give the season 3 stars. But no! I shall not change my mind! Even if the last disc was markedly better than the previous ones, it still took great stamina and patience to get through the previous episodes.

The season begins where the previous season left off – in terms of the BAU characters’ situations. Gideon missing, Hotch and Prentiss off of the team.  Does anyone really care? I did not. I watched anyway. Finally in episode 6 “About Face,” we get our “Gideon replacement” in the character of David Rossi.  Rossi is played by Joe Mantegna, who has been in a whole pile of movies and TV shows.  Also, he is the parent of an autistic child.  Anyway, immediately I took a dislike to the character Rossi. He is grating and has a chip on his shoulder.

Penelope is still the most interesting character. In the episodes “Lucky” and “Penelope” she is shot by a new boyfriend. (The boyfriend is also one of the stars from the TV show Saving Grace.)  Then she meets and dates another FBI analyst, Kevin Lynch.  Penelope’s character is developed further (in case you had not already noticed that she is a geek) when she recognizes comic book artists, references California alternate lifestyles, and talks jargon with Lynch.

Emily Prentiss still over-plays all her lines. Derek Morgan still exists solely to kick down doors and tackle bad guys. It has actually become really amusing to call out when Morgan is about to kick a door in.

One of the particularly poor episodes was “Birthright,” which I think was completely unbelievable and really too bizarre.  The last three episodes of the season: “The Crossing,” “Tabula Rasa,” and “Lo Fi” are actually decent episodes and worth watching. Unfortunately, you have to suffer through the previous episodes to get to these. And I cannot ignore all the bad writing that came before just because the last three episodes were up to par.

Unfortunately, the last episode leaves off on a cliffhanger – an explosion, nonetheless. So, of course, now I want to see season 4. It’s not because of any great merit of the series, in general, but rather a curiosity that I have based on a couple of episodes. Again, I am still surprised that this show has so many seasons…. this season really seemed to be downright ridiculous in certain episodes. How long can I care about this team and their weirdo cases? I guess, I wish we got to learn more about the BAU and less about the grisly and extremely wacko killings.

2 stars

Leave a Reply

